story.png

THE STORY

How it all began, paused and began again

Just like a whole lot of people,  I love traveling., but I quickly realized, that I didn't want to travel the way typical backpackers do. Taking selfies, riding elephants, swimming with dolphins, eating "westernized food", laying at the beach while sipping cheap cocktails and flying home, wearing a "Cancun" Shirt, to show off one has been to Mexico, without even getting to know the real Mexico. All that wasn't for me, I want to get to know a country's character, I want to talk to locals, I want to take home more than just pictures of myself in front of famous sights.

 

That's when I knew my next trip would be completely different. I wanted to give something back. That's when I had the idea of combining my love of traveling by bicycle with a fundraiser. And then things kind of just fell into place and Wheels Of Fortune was born.

In August 2019 me and my bike aka. "Little Black Panther" started our adventure and cycled through Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Argentina and Chile all the way to the end of the world - Ushuaia. Where, after 10.500km, the pandemic put a sudden end to my trip.

The fundraiser kept on running and in the end we raised 15.125€ for south american SOS children's villages.. <3

After two years of waiting it is now to pedal and a brand new fundraiser.

LRM_EXPORT_130887291875829_20190813_073628449.jpeg
Bildschirmfoto 2022-03-09 um 14.19.30.png
49P.jpg

story.png

DIE STORY

Wie alles begann, pausierte und wieder anfing

Wie viele Menschen, liebe auch ich das Reisen, allerdings habe ich schnell gemerkt, dass ich anders reisen wollte als typische Backpacker*innen. Ein Selfie hier, ein Selfie da, auf Elefanten reiten, „westernized food“ essen, am Strand liegend günstige Cocktails trinken und im „Cancun“ Shirt nach Hause fliegen, um zu beweisen, dass man in Mexiko war, ohne Mexiko wirklich kennengelernt zu haben. Ich will mehr als das. Ich will den Charakter eines Landes spüren, will mit Einheimischen sprechen und mehr mit nach Hause nehmen, als Bilder von mir, vor irgendwelchen Sehenswürdigkeiten.

Deswegen war für mich schnell klar, dass ich nicht mehr nur einfach reisen will, sondern auch etwas zurück geben will. Und dann kam die Idee, meine Liebe für das Reisen mit dem Fahrrad, mit einer Spendenaktion zu verbinden. "Wheels Of fortune" war geboren und dann ging alles ziemlich schnell.

 

Im August 2019 ging es für mich und mein Fahrrad, aka "Little Black Panther" los. Von Kolumbien, durch Ecuador, Peru, Chile und Argentinien, bis ans Ende der Welt - Ushuaia. Dort wartete nach 10.500 KM auch das überraschende Ende meiner Reise - die Corona Pandemie.

Die Spendenaktion lief weiter und am Ende kamen 15.125€ für südamerikanische SOS Kinderdörfer zusammen. <3 

Nach zwei Jahren des Wartens ist es nun an der Zeit, in die Pedale zu treten und den Spendenmarathon zu starten.

LRM_EXPORT_130887291875829_20190813_073628449.jpeg
Bildschirmfoto 2022-03-09 um 14.19.30.png
49P.jpg